Video


Form properties are the settings and attribute that apply to the form as a whole and dictate who and how a form can be interacted with. To access the form properties, open the form in edit mode and click on the form's title bar. The properties will show up to the left of the form. The title bar will highlight green when the form properties are displayed.

Title

The Title shows up under Form Name on the end user's form listing. This is how the form is identified. 


Forms are listed alphabetically within the form listing. If you have a preferred order in which your forms appear, consider adding a number or letter to the start of the form title: 'A - Student Demographics' or '1) Athletics Registration Form'.

Description

The Description shows up under Form Description on the end user's form listing. This provides the end user a bit more information on the form. This property is optional.

Success Message

Any text entered into the Success Message property will be displayed to the end user in the dialog box thanking the user for their submission. This property is optional.

The most common use-case for the Success Message is to give the end user more information once they have completed the final form of a form set.

Category

Admin Portal Only 


Forms are grouped together by their category in the end user's form listing. Any value typed into the Category property becomes a Category. If the same value is typed into the Category property of multiple forms, the forms will be in the same Category.


Categories are listed alphabetically within the end user's form listing. This property is optional, but if left blank, the form will go into the General category. The General category is listed at the top of the form listing.

Support Plan

Admin Portal Only 


Selecting a Student Support Plan from the list will add the current form to the support plan. Please see Student Support Plans for details.

Publish

This is the on/off switch for form sharing. When checked, the form is shared with student/staff records based on the Share Permission settings.

Approval

Admin Portal Only 


When the form's Approval property is enabled, submissions of the form from the parent, student, or teacher portals go into a pending state until an admin user has Accepted or Rejected the submission.  Please see Approval Process for more details.

Notification

Admin Portal Only 


Enabling Notifications will result in an email being sent to one or more recipients each time a submission is received for the form. Please see Notifications for more details.

Anonymous Responses

Admin Portal Only 


Only available for General Survey form types. 


Checking this box makes responses anonymous, whereas typical responses log the respondent's name. 

Restrict to Submit Once

Admin Portal Only 


On collaborative forms, this option only allows a single response per student/staff record. On individual response forms, it allows one response per respondent. Afterward, the Submit button is disabled. If the response is rejected through the approval process, it will still count as the one allowed response. 

Disable Submit for Family

Only available on forms of type Student. 


By default, this option is not selected. This allows users of the parent portal to submit a given response to more than just the student whose record the user is currently editing. The user can find Submit for Family by clicking the arrow next to the Submit button.


The user is presented with a list of the students to which they have access through their parent portal account and to whom the form has been published. The user can choose one or more additional students for whom the current submission should apply.


This is a great feature for forms that may be relevant to multiple members of the family, such as address, contacts, or permissions. It is important, though, that a user does not use this feature for forms that are student-specific, such as demographics or health.


If a forms collects data that is only relevant to the current student, it is suggested that the Disable Submit for Family option is enabled. This will remove the Submit for Family option from the Submit menu.

Clear Form on Submission

Clears the data from a submission the next time the form loads. This presents the user with a blank form for creating a new submission. It is important to keep in mind, though, that any elements linked to PowerSchool fields will always load the PowerSchool field data.


Clearing a form on submission does not remove the previous submission. Previous responses can be accessed by the end user through the response bar at the top of the form. 

Admin users can also find previous submissions in the response report.

Hide Save Button

At the bottom left of many forms is the Save for Later button.

This allows the end user to save the data they have entered into the form's elements without submitting a response to the school/district. Required fields do not need to be completed in order for the form to be saved. This allows the user to step away from the form and not worry about losing work.


If you do not want the Save for Later button to be available on the form, enable the Hide Save Button.


Not all forms will have a Save for Later button even if Hide Save Button is not enabled. Forms containing Contacts, Document Attachment, Event Calendars, Collection Tables, or Enhanced Collection Tables cannot be saved without submitting the form.

Share Permissions

Share permissions allow form designers to limit who can view or submit a form, allowing districts to have control over their data. The share permission’s multiple levels of control also allow districts to share only relevant forms with each user/user set, keeping the experience free of irrelevant information. Please see Share Permissions for more details.

Reset Form

When a form is reset, the form's status in the end user's form list will change from Submitted or Approved to Empty, signaling that the form needs a response. Data will be cleared from the form, though PowerSchool field values will still load within elements linked to the fields. The response bar at the top of the form shows no previous responses. Responses that occurred prior to the reset will not be displayed in Response Lists and on the Response Report by default. This allows the same form to be used across multiple submission cycles.


By default, Reset Form is set to Never, meaning once the user makes a submission, the form's status will remain Submitted as long as the form is published to that student/staff member's record.


Setting Reset Form to 'School year' causes the reset to happen when the school year value within PowerSchool increments.


Choosing 'On date' allows you to select a specific date for the reset to happen. This date can be in the past or the future.


'On submission' behaves similarly to Clear Form on Submission with the added functionality of resetting the form.

Custom Styling (CSS)

CSS Styling is a great tool for giving your form a distinctive look and more complex formatting. You can set an element’s background color, change the size of the description font, or change the margins to create a visible hierarchy on your form. Please see Custom Styling (CSS) for details.

Owned By

Admin Portal Only 


This value is set automatically when a new form is saved or synced for the first time. If you need to pass ownership of the form to another user, select that user from the list and save the form.

Next Form

Admin Portal Only 


By default, this value is not set. When the form is submitted by an end user, it will reload the same form. If you would prefer a specific form to load after the current form is submitted, choose that form from the list. The list contains all forms owned by the current user.


Using Next Form allows you to walk an end user through a group or category of forms, helping to ensure that the user fills out all of the required forms.


If a form in the chain of forms is conditionally published so that not all end users will have it available to submit, Next Form will move to that form's Next Form, jumping over the missing link